Catfish, Two Perch and A Bluegill.

After all that hard work on Monday, David thought we should take a little over night fishing trip at the ponds. So we spent most of Tuesday getting things ready and packed in BOB the Rv. So we get over to the ponds about a quarter of 7am on Wednesday morning. The morning started out slow, we were using our fishing poles rigged for bottom fishing for catfish.

The bottom fishing pole. A hook at the bottom a slip weight and a hook at the top.

The bottom fishing pole. A hook at the bottom a slip weight and a hook at the top.

Dave and I patiently waited for them to start biting and we waited and we waited. This went on for about an hour.

So Dave says,” Let’s switch to our crappie rigged poles and see if we can catch some perch. ”

Pole rigged with a crappie rig. Slip float at top, a float above the two hook extenders and a weight on the bottom.

Pole rigged with a crappie rig. Slip float at top, a float above the two hook extenders and a weight on the bottom.

Well now we are talking. We start getting some bites now. I am the fist to reel in a fish. It is a very nice catfish. Well ok that is what we wanted when we had the other poles. Don’t matter to me which pole catches what. If it works don’t argue. Dave is happy for me until pull  in a couple more catfish and a bluegill and he is still sitting at zero. He doesn’t have to wait too much longer when he starts pulling in the fish also. We reach another slow spell so I decide to take a break, sit in the Rv for a while to do some crocheting, and cool off.

A while later, I am standing in the doorway watching Dave reeling in a fish when the other pole gets a bite. I am already heading out the door. Dave reaches down and sets the hook just as I come up so he hands me that pole so he can continue reeling in his fish. We both reeled in a nice catfish.

A bit later I reel in a nice catfish. I ask Dave to take a picture with my prize. As I am getting the camera ready for him and about to pass it to him when his pole gets a bite. So he goes over and reels in a catfish. So I just took this usie, it is like a selfie but with both of us. I just made that up. 🙂

IMG_3791

Dave and I with our catfish.

Well we had intended to stay over night, but the fishing was so good we had to go home early. We both caught a limit of catfish. I caught a lone bluegill and Dave caught two really nice perch.

We were not the only ones enjoying the day. It was a beautiful day of fishing and relaxing.

What are your thoughts? :D

