Post Idea from A Fellow Blogger

Thank you for the idea, Paardje!!

 

I was reading a fellow blogger’s post. She was concerned that naming her house plants was crazy. I commented that she was not and proceeded to tell her about my leafy family members. So I thought it would make a good subject for a post to introduce my leafy family members too.

You can read her post and my comments here:

Paardje’s New Leafy Family Members post on Of Snail Mail, Books, and Vanities

Now, without further ado, here are my Leafy Family Members!

 

 

I got Peter Parker at a thrift store for one dollar. He was in one of those little plastic starter pots. That is Peter Parker’s third pot. He has died back a bit after this replant but he is making a come back.

Peter The Second has more babies hanging down but I will just leave them as they are. I would have to take him down and place the baby in a pot of soil while it is still attached to him. Spider plants are like strawberry plants in that regard, also I don’t know where I would put the baby if I gave him his own pot.

Peter the Third has not had any babies yet. He is another one that just likes to sit and not grow but is healthy.

Shrek was a gift from my mother. She had too many plants so she gave him to me. He did have a wife, yes her name was Fionna. She and her children passed some years ago. Shrek has been cut back to his pot once. He had vined out in both directions into the living room and the kitchen. I cut him back because all the leaves along the vine died except for the growing tip. He looked naked with just a vine strung along the wall on thumb tacks.

I took those two growth tips and soaked them in bowls of water until they rooted out. Then I planted them in the pots they are in now. So Shrek has two sons.

I got Kris Kringle when I worked at the nursing home. He had fallen or broke off his dad and was lying on the floor. So I picked him up and wrapped him in some wet paper towels until I could bring him home. I placed him in a bowl of water until he had little roots sprouting. I then planted him in a pot. This is his second pot in the picture. He does well at growing, but he has never produced any flowers. Maybe someday when I find a place in the house that is cooler,but not in direct sunlight, that is what they like to produce flowers.

So there you have it my leafy house plant family members!

Thanks again for the post idea Paardje!!

2 comments on “Post Idea from A Fellow Blogger

  1. LOL! 😀 Again, I love how you named your spider plants. And thanks so much for mentioning me here ❤ This also reminds me an update is due on Britney, Jeanette and Eleanore 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D

