David Harvested Some Squash Today

I washed all, now I have to find places to store it.  🙂

There are 13 butternut squash and 11 acorn squash.

Some of the butternuts have scars from an early season hail storm.

They are still going to be good eating!

3 comments on “David Harvested Some Squash Today

    • Last time I made it. This was David’s idea on how to prepare it. First I peel the squash with a vegetable peeler. Then I got out our heavy duty knife and David’s Rubber mallet from the tool box. I cut just above the bulby end by placing the knife there and beating the knife down with the rubber mallet. These squash are tough. I continue to cut up the slender part into cubes. I cut the bulby part in half scoop out the seeds with a spoon then cut it into cubes also. I placed them all in a large glass baking pan like you would bake a cake in. Drizzled some bacon grease on them. Then I put a package of spiral ham ends and pieces that you can buy at Walmart in the pan too. Salt, ground pepper corn, garlic powder and onion powder. Covered it with foil. Put it in the oven at 375 degrees until the squash was soft. Which was about 45 minutes. It was yummy.

      Like

What are your thoughts? :D

