Another Heart Beanie For Martin

In Traditional Valentine’s Day Colors.

 

If you recall I did a post about the heart beanie I made for Martin. In it I wrote that I was giving the front post double crochet stitch another try to make a beanie. The first attempt photos are shown below.

I got to looking at the beanie and decided  I would start over. I didn’t like how it was looking with the red showing through the white and vice versa as I carried the unused color strand along and the heart was not lining up correctly. I also decided to make the larger 2T-3T size rather than the 6-12 months size. I think Martin is gonna be a big boy. 🙂

I couldn’t figure out any other way of changing to red other than  cutting and joining to get the proper look.  I kept the white attached but did not stitch it in as I crocheted the heart. I left it hang across the back and picked it back up when I returned to the main body of the beanie.

Here is the final result. I think I may have gotten the hang of the front post double crochet.

40c Martin's red heart beanie

Here is the pattern I used:

Bubblegum Heart Beanie by Amanda Evanson from MNE Crafts From her “The Emy Collection – Emy’s Beanie”

http://www.mnecrafts.com/2014/02/the-emy-collection-emys-beanie.html

Hook used: I/9- 5.50 mm

Colors: Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo in 0319 Cherry Red and 0311 White

Stitches: FPDC for body  and SC for edge trim.

 

3 comments on “Another Heart Beanie For Martin

  1. So glad you showed the inside! I just started a new “slocks” pattern and the inside is the same! It is supposed to make the slock cushier(is that a word?) to walk on/in. Too cool – bet your hats are just as comfortable – you should push that part in your sales!! woo hoo

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D

