Out With The Olde and In With The New

KINDLE KEYBOARD GOTTA BRAND NEW COVER !

Part One: The Crochet Fabric

I have been doing lots of crochet projects for family gifts of late, so after finishing Martin’s Blue Visor I decided it was time to do a project for myself. I have been looking at my Kindle Keyboard Cover for sometime thinking on how I could fashion one that would be similar to the one I have. I liked that it was like a book cover.

 


 

So with much thinking and planning in my head I finally began work. First came the choosing what colors I would use. David uses it a lot so I didn’t want to get too girly with the colors. I finally decided on using gold and yellow tones.

I used the Dark Gold as my Main Color. Bright Yellow(A), Sun Gold(B) and Pale Yellow(C) were the Contrasting Colors. The Buff and White were for trim and the fasteners on the inside of the cover.

I measured the old cover it was 8 1/2 inches by 12 inches. So this would have to be the size of my finished crochet piece. I decided to go to 13 inches so I would have a bit of wiggle room.

I used a H/8 – 5.00 mm hook. This gives a nice tight stitch for a more fabric like piece.

I used single crochet for the same reason.

This is what my gauge was : 8 single crochets = 2 inches and 3 rows = 1 inch

So now I am going to write out my first go at an actual pattern for you. You may use it if you want to make an 8 inch by 13 inch piece of striped crochet fabric for a project of your own. 🙂  I am sure everyone can pretty much make a piece of crochet fabric to what ever size they need. Sometimes though it is just nice to have  written steps handy so you can keep your place.  I mostly wrote it out just to see if I could and it would make sense to others.

Chain 5o with Main Color. Note: Main Color will be carried up along the side of the piece.

Row 1: Sc in second chain from hook. Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 2: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 3: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 4: Sc across to last stitch join Contrasting Color A with last two loops of last Sc, Ch. 1 Turn. Carry Main Color up the Side.  – 49 stitches.

Row 5: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 6: Sc across to last stitch join Main Color with last two loops of last Sc, Fasten off Contrasting Color A. Ch. 1 Turn. – 49 stitches.

Row 7 – 9 Repeat Row 5. – 49 stitches.

Row 10: Sc across to last stitch join Contrasting Color B with last two loops of last Sc, Ch. 1 Turn. – 49 stitches.

Row 11: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 12: Sc across to last stitch join Main Color with last two loops of last Sc, Fasten off Contrasting Color B. Ch. 1 Turn. – 49 stitches.

Row 13 – 15: Repeat Row 11. – 49 stitches.

Row 16: Sc across to last stitch join Contrasting Color C with last two loops of last Sc, Ch. 1 Turn. – 49 stitches.

Row 17 – 19: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 20: Sc across to last stitch join Main Color with last two loops of last Sc, Fasten off Contrasting Color C. Ch. 1 Turn. – 49 stitches.

Row 21 – 23: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 24: Sc across to last stitch join Contrasting Color B with last two loops of last Sc, Ch. 1 Turn. – 49 stitches.

Row 25: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 26: Sc across to last stitch join Main Color with last two loops of last Sc, Fasten off Contrasting Color B. Ch. 1 Turn. – 49 stitches.

Row 27 – 29: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 30: Sc across to last stitch join Contrasting Color A with last two loops of last Sc, Ch. 1 Turn. Carry Main Color up the Side.  – 49 stitches.

Row 31: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 32: Sc across to last stitch join Main Color with last two loops of last Sc, Fasten off Contrasting Color A. Ch. 1 Turn. – 49 stitches.

Row 33 – 35: Sc across to end Ch. 1 Turn – 49 stitches.

Row 36: Sc across to end. Fasten off. Weave in ends.

So, does it make sense, could you follow along and come out with a nice crochet fabric piece?


 

As you can see my assistant was inspecting my work on the final rows of the crochet fabric piece.

 

23 Kindle crochet faberic4

 


 

Trimming the edges of crochet fabric piece.

28Kindle crochet faberic9

So ends Part One: The Crochet Fabric

Stay tuned for Part Two: Making the Insides

What are your thoughts? :D

