Retirement…

Is Not All Fun and Games

Well spring is finally springing off and on here. We will get two or three days in a row that are just gorgeous. Temperatures near and above 70 degrees. So David and I have been finding small projects in the yard that we can get done in that time before the next cold snap of 40 to 5o degrees for the high.

My project was getting the bed around the deck raked out of all the fall foliage. The work was done on two separate days. I got my yard gloves, rake and the wheelbarrow. David asked me why I didn’t use the big blue trash can to move my piles of leaves. I said it is easier for me to push a wheelbarrow than carry the trashcan. It may have taken more trips over to the garden area to dump but it was lighter and it has wheels. 🙂

 

This is all the leaf litter around the deck and stairs.

You may recall Sully was enjoying the catnip he found there.

Sully 84

__________________________________________________

This is the front side of the bed all raked out.

We use pine shavings for Sully’s litter box.

The used litter makes great mulch. I will be digging that in before I plant.

I will be planting gladiolas and marigolds here.2016 Garden1________________________________________________________

These are my leaf piles over in the garden area. David wanted them there so he can run them over with the mower later to provide mulch that he can dig into the squash hills he will make in this area.

2016 Garden2

_____________________________________________________________

A few days later I was able to rake out the side portion of the deck bed.

The before. 2016 Garden6

The after.

This also shows the hole David dug in preparation for concreting around the shed door steps.

2016 Garden7

___________________________________________________________

On one of the not so nice days I got my sweet peppers, marigolds, and green peppers started in one of those little Jiffy pot starter kits.

When I checked on it last night, I had a marigold sprouted. Yippee!!!


Beside the hole digging David was able to get BOB’s drive line put back up in its proper place. He says that the vibration that had him worried that the drive line would just drop out on our 2014 trip to Arizona is hardly noticeable. He replaced two U-joints and a carrier bearing. He also had to move one of the brackets that hold it in place about 1/8 of an inch.

He also spent one afternoon tearing the shower out of BOB. We are planning on remodeling the bathroom in BOB. We place a large storage bin in the bathtub to use as a live fish well when we go fishing over at the ponds. We had to get a new one for this year’s fishing season because the last pike David caught last season put a hole in the side. David was trying to put the new bin in but couldn’t get it in around the plastic accordion style shower door. So he decided to take it out. Well then he got to thinking while I am at it might as well take out the shower stall too since we plan to remodel it anyway. 🙂

Shower removed 1

I didn’t know David was doing this, so I have no before photos.

I thought I had some photos of the bathroom from when we first got BOB but I didn’t.

This is the left wall and the back wall of the shower stall.


Shower removed 3

This photo is of the right wall.

I removed some wallpaper and painted this wall in an earlier remodel of the water lines.


Shower removed 2

This is the new bin for the fish.

It fits nicely now that the shower door is not in the way.


This is the shower door and stall removed from BOB.

We will probably lay these out in the garden in problem weed areas for weed control.

The metal pieces will probably be sent to the recycling center.

So as you can see retirement is not all fun and games.

Yet the work that you do  can be enjoyable, fun, productive, and provide you with a sense of accomplishment.

smiley face

4 comments on “Retirement…

  1. woo hoo – YOU GO GIRL!! hee hee, I feel your pain already. Our major project (I say major cuz we have tons of minor ones to do too-eeek) this year will most likely take more than a year – -weedless gardens!! I have been watching a pbs show and bought a book “Weedless Gardening by Lee Reicht” – now we are hooked and determined to do it. I will be posting on this as we go. Today it is cold, windy (again-grrr), and prepping for snow tomorrow – then 70 by Monday – aaahhh Colorado weather, never a boring moment!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D

