Another Round of Bucket Hats

 

While visiting my daughter, Kay the other day she told me that my brother Ted, told her that my Mom wanted a hat because everyone else had hats. He also said she needed it because her hair is so thin now she gets sun burned when she goes to the park. So I contacted my brother via Facebook to see what kind of hat she would like. I had just finished bucket hats for Kay, my son – in – law, Justin, and myself so I thought it would be a good hat for my Mom as I didn’t think she would like a tight-fitting hat. My brother agreed and gave me the colors he thought mom would like. He said to do it in beige and green to match her van. Nope, he was not kidding. Since I was making another bucket hat I thought I would make some for him, his wife, Angie,  and his son, Damen.

Pattern used for all The Bucket Hats:

Men’s Summer Bucket Hat by Sara Sach from Posh Pooch Designs

All yarns used  were 100% acrylic 4 ply worsted weight.

52 Mom's bucket hat

Hook size: J/10 – 6.00 mm

Stitches: Double crochet, Slip Stitch, Half Double crochet, and Single crochet

Colors: Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo in 0334 Buff

Red Heart Super Saver in 0406 Medium Thyme

My family has slightly larger heads and I tend to crochet tightly, so I went up a hook size from the one specified in the pattern to make sure it would fit. So the finished circumference was 22 inches rather than the 19 inches given in the pattern.

I also did a small ruffle on the edge by doing * sc in next 3 stitches, then 3sc in next stitch repeat from * around.


 

51b Ted's Bucket hat

Hook used: K/10 1/2 – 6.50 mm

Stitches: Same

Colors: 2 Balls no label  bright light pink from my stash of pink.

Red Heart Knit and Crochet in 814 Robin Blue

My brother has a very big head. I had to go up 2 hook sizes for him.
Yes, those are the colors he chose. I was not doing an evil older sister joke on him. 🙂


53a Angie's bucket hat

Hook size: J/ 10 – 6.00 mm

Colors: Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo in 0356 Amethyst

Light purple/pink no label ball

Again I used a larger sized hook.
I used a reverse single crochet stitch for the trim around the brim.


54 Damen's Bucket hat

Hook size: I/9 – 5.50 mm This is the actual called for hook.

Colors: Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo in 0319 Cherry Red

Red Heart Wintuk in 255 Burnt Orange

6 comments on “Another Round of Bucket Hats

    • They are really easy to work up and they use less then a skein of yarn so you can get at least 2 hats or more from a 5 oz skein, that is why I like them so much. They also seem to be a popular style and look great in any color combo. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D

