Purples and Mulberry Mix Shells Hat

I whipped up another hat!

 

I don’t know if you can tell, but I like to make hats.

I will probably wear this one for a while myself then I will put it up for sale in the fall.

Pattern Used: Summer Joy By Maria Bittner from Pattern-Paradise
Start Date: April 12, 2016
Finished: April 17, 2016

Hook Used: H/8 – 5.00mm

Stitches: Slip stitch for edging trim. Single crochet for 2 rounds of the body before the shells.

Half double crochet for the body and brim. Double crochet for the shells.

Colors: Red Heart Super Saver accent 100 % Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in

0575 Hyacinth for the crown

0575 Hyacinth for the body and brim

Red Heart Super Saver 100 % Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in

3972 Mulberry Mix for the shells

Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo 100 % Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in

0356 Amethyst for edging trim

Measurements: Crown to edge is 9 1/2 inches.

Circumference is 22 inches.

Size: Adult Women’s Small to Medium

List Price: $ 8.00

I didn’t know if I was going to add the flower yet when I took these photos.

70 Purples and Mulberry Mix colored

Well I did decide to add a flower. Flowers patterns are hard for me to figure out by just reading. Maria’s flower pattern  for the hat, on her site with a picture tutorial was not enough help to me. So I took to YouTube to find a video for a big layered flower. I found one that I kinda understood.

Well when it came down to it I just kinda winged my own flower. I started a granny square for the center in Hyacinth. Then I double crocheted 3 times in the spaces, next I think I single crocheted the tops of those double crochet then double crocheted down to the granny square center. Then I double crochet in the front loop only 3 times slip stitched in the same then slip stitched the next stitch, slip stitch then chain 3 , then dc in next 3 front loops in Mulberry Mix I repeated that around. Then I changed to Bright Orchid and did the same in the back loops of the previous round. Then I finished by slip stitching around that in Amethyst.

Well, any way I think that is what I did. 😀

70a Purples and Mulberry Mix colored

I sewed the flower on the hat with a bright pink button at the center.

I also sewed the points of each of the outer petals to the hat

other wise they curled up and I thought this would keep it more secure to the hat.

Oh, by the way how do you like my new model? Kay gave her to me. She is a little dinged up, but she really knows how to work a hat!

6 comments on “Purples and Mulberry Mix Shells Hat

    • Thank you for the comment, likes, follow. Check out my ebay listings with the link in the blog roll to the right. You may find another Stone Age Hat that calls to you to take it home. lol Thanks again. 🙂

      Like

What are your thoughts? :D

