Can We Plant Now!?

 

We have been having lots of wet and cold days. David and I are both anxious to get the garden planted. Well it has finally stopped being rainy and last night the low was 46 degrees. It looks as we are now past the danger of having frost. So today we will be starting some of that planting!

David and I have been taking the occasional nice day here and there getting places ready to plant the baby plants that we have been growing inside.

These are David’s squash plants that he has been growing in peat pots with potting soil.

He has acorn, butternut, and butter bush varieties. They will be going outside today.

2016 Garden36

The acorn squash will be going in these three holes in front of the house

between the back step and the front deck.


These four holes will be the home for some of the butternut squash.

They are out past the corner of the shed and at the east end of the yard.

The butter bush will be planted along the fence line behind my clothes line,

but that area still needs the holes dug.


David has also been working on getting the shed stairs retaining wall finished.

He has the wall done.

He now has to back fill around it.

He has done an AWESOME job!


I have been working on getting a spot ready for my gladioli and one for the carrots.

( Gladiolus varieties 20 bulbs of Rainbow Bouquet and 10 bulbs Pretty Pinks)

I got the spot around the deck ready. I hope to start planting them soon.

I will be helping David get the squash planted today though.


This is the before and after shots of the spot for the carrots.

I think I will also plant my two early sprouting marigold plants in the corners.

(Marigold French Dwarf Double Mix variety will grow to 12 inches)

I also have some helichrysum sprouts that I will plant closer to the house just behind my decorative stick.

(Heichrysum Tall Double Mixed Colors variety will grow to 2 to 3 feet)


Until I am ready to transplant, the marigolds can sit on the deck and soak up the sun.

They are in the company of a couple of green bell pepper plants that were also started from seed indoors.

The peppers will be going in the backyard this year in the spot where

David thinned out the strawberry patch last fall.

It still needs more preparation before I can start transplanting.

At least I think they are green bell peppers. I also planted small sweet peppers, but my signs got wet and I moved some of the little peat pods around so I am not sure which they are.

The indoor garden.


I also have this planter of marigolds that I moved out onto the deck.

2016 Garden26

I have not decided if I will leave them in the planter or transplant them to various spots around the yard and garden spots.

I do have about ten more packets of seeds.

So I could just through those around too now that is warmer at night.

I might just stick to growing them in a planter then transplant. I am sure I would pick the thrown around ones as weeds because some of these weeds around here try to pretend they are marigolds when they first sprout.


I also found my little pansy or johnny jump up , which ever you prefer.

I weeded around him. Then put some more soil and this block of wood around him.

I think he grows there well because the corner is shady most of the day and when it rains

water seems to pool there.

He looks much happier.

smiley face

Well I will be off getting started right after a “quick” check of Facebook.

7 comments on “Can We Plant Now!?

    • Yes, they are suppose to keep grasshoppers away I don’t know about the mosquito though. I did go ahead and plant some in the carrot spot by the back door.

      Like

    • We have been starting inside for several years now (when april went from 90 on Friday to snow abd 30 on Monday year) – climate changes! We watch everything outside, change of seasons etc. Gardens just cant do it without tons of help including starting seeds – which we are glad to do! wooo hoo

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Way tooo much hard work guys!! lol I’m thinkin that with all the rains we have had, just throw out seeds and poof – plants! I mean really, just check out how all the weeds are doing!?! No, really, I/we are just as sick about it – its gotta be just perfect. Good luck and great pics! thanx for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • We started the squash indoors because last year we didn’t get to put seeds in the ground until the first week of June because of the cold wet May. Some of those didn’t come up so we were replanting as late as first of July. So we wanted a head start this year. We will continue to start babies inside in case of die off or hail. We put in about four hours today transplanting the squash.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D

