Thar Be Things A Growin’ Here! Arrgh!

I am a pirate gardener today! 😀

First up, I would like to report that Johnny Jump – up will pull through his ordeal. We had a small natural gas leak in the hose that brings the gas into the house which is right above his head. I don’t think the leak was hurting him. When the repairman came to check for the leak he pulled the tall grass around Johnny. I think this took away some of his shade and he got sun burnt. I have been giving him extra water to keep him moist and cool. He seems to be coming around.


David has been continuing his excavation of the east shed wall.

He has been back filling the south hole and digging more of the compost/dirt pile from the east side.

He has been piling the excess in various places.

He is making a new bedding space, that is what the wooden logs will be marking off.

There was a healthy patch of grass where he wants the new bed.

He dug a hole and transplanted it over to the hole out-of-the-way of the bed.


Growing at the edge of the compost/dirt pile is this lovely iris.

I removed them from what is now my carrot/ flower bed a couple of years ago. I didn’t want to deal with them. I gave my daughter some of them, the rest I just threw on the pile. They did grow last year but didn’t flower.

They sure are some tough old bulbs!

2016 Garden90


The peppers are doing well. I planted the last of my seedlings, that I had started inside, yesterday.  They all looked good this morning when I went out to water them. I have lost 3 so far though, as of this morning I have 41 pepper plants. David got the tomatoes planted just to the east of my pepper patch and they are doing well. The far eastern end of the garden is also coming along. David got one hill formed up and I planted yellow summer squash on it. That is it in the foreground, running north to south, of the 3 rd photo . I transplanted 10 marigold seedlings along the northern edge yesterday. The all were alive and doing well this morning when I watered them.


David has squash sprouting in many of the hills he planted with seeds, after the wind and cold spell killed his early planted seedlings. He finally decided it was safe to put out the last of the seedlings he still had growing inside.

These are Butternut Squash.

                      These are Butternut Squash.


The beds around the front deck are starting to sprout and grow too.

I now have four gladiolus sprouting.

My little radish patch is flourishing too!


Last but not least is my little flower/ carrot bed. The flowers are doing well, but the carrots I am not sure. I know that their sprouts are tiny and look a bit like grass. I am not seeing to many. I don’t want to weed either, just in case. The helichrysum seedlings are doing well. The marigold seeds have sprouted and are growing well. A couple of seeds found their way beyond the decorative branch barrier into the carrot area though. I will let them stay as they fought so hard to get there. 🙂

2 comments on “Thar Be Things A Growin’ Here! Arrgh!

What are your thoughts? :D

