Recent Critters Around the Yard

We have had some nice visitors to the yard in the past few weeks also, not just that murderous raccoon.

First up is this little bird. He was hanging out near the trees that my clothesline is on. I never was able to identify him for sure, but I think he may be some sort of small wren. He also would hang out under the wood pallet that David has over near the burn barrel. He moved in the first photo, little bugger. 🙂

Next we have this cute little moth. I saw him on the window one morning when I looked out.

Moth on the window

One morning I heard this fella tapping out a beat on the tree.

I nice little Downy woodpecker.

I still am hearing him so he is staying around.

Downy woodpecker

Last evening as he was getting his bicycle off the deck to go for a ride, my son, Nick saw this guy slither under the car ramps we have by the deck steps. So if you have a thing with snakes don’t look at the next two photos.

He is a very good-sized bull snake. He probably is over 4 feet long. I took the second photo as he was slithering along the house. I was standing on the back steps as he slithered out from under them. I almost didn’t get his full length, he was moving pretty fast. He then continued around to the back yard along the house. We have an old cat carrier sitting up against the skirting blocking a hole. He slithered into the carrier and David shut him in. David went out later to let it out but it had all ready found a way out. There must have been a hole in the carrier that it found after it calmed down and we were not chasing it.

And those are a few of the critters that we meet in our yard.

3 comments on “Recent Critters Around the Yard

  1. Pingback: It Was A Mommy! | Our Retired Life

What are your thoughts? :D

