My New Camera Is A Canon ELPH 180!

 

My wonderful son, Nick got it for me. He purchased it at our local Walmart, but it is also available on Amazon.

Here is a bit more detail on my  Canon PowerShot ELPH 180 (Silver) with 20.0 MP CCD Sensor and 8x Optical Zoom

For those wanting a simple way to capture moments with family, friends and more, the slim, stylish PowerShot ELPH 180 camera has easy-to-use features to help create photos that are as stunning as you want. The 8x Optical Zoom lets you get close to the action, while the 20.0 Megapixel* CCD sensor with DIGIC 4+ Image Processor help produce vibrant, clear images to share or print. Take more than just still images, with the ability to record movies at 720p HD. For added convenience, Smart AUTO figures out suitable settings for what you’re photographing so you don’t have to worry about finding a picture mode yourself. To help reduce the effects of camera shake, Digital IS helps keep blur to a minimum. On top of that, the Auto Zoom feature can automatically close in on your subject and keep it in focus for easy shooting. (This is the Canon Description on both websites.)

The following description of features is from the Walmart website. Amazon has one too but it is all in graph form.  🙂

  • 20 megapixel resolution with high-quality still images and video recordings
    Featuring Scene Modes with 720p HD Movie Recording
  • Canon 5-40mm zoom lens with 8x optical/4x digital zoom
    Equivalent to a 28-224mm lens on an analog camera with TTL Autofocus, Glass Lens
  • 2.7″ TFT LCD screen with image editing features
    Featuring Graphical User Interface, color TFT LCD screen
  • Built-in flash with Auto On/Off and Slow-Sync Flash

Additional Features:

  • 1 SD/SDHC/SDXC memory card slot (memory card not included)
  • Rechargeable lithium-ion battery for up to 300 shots
  • ISO Modes: Auto, 1600, 800, 400, 200, 100
  • File Formats Supported: EXIF, JPEG, DPOF, DCF, MP4
  • 3.75″ x 2.14″ x 0.87″; 4.44 oz

Compatibility and Warranty:

  • Compatible with PC or Mac
  • 1-year limited manufacturer warranty
Here is the screen and contols.

Here is the screen and controls.

This camera is almost exactly like my old one. I guess Canon just gave it a cute new name. One difference in this “model” is it has a dedicated trash can button. It makes it easier to toss out those bad photos. I can now also protect a photo so I don’t accidentally toss it.

It came with the rechargeable battery and the charger for the battery. Which were the same as my old camera.  Now I have a spare of both, I will now always have a battery charged. No waiting! It did not come with the USB cord to connect to laptop, but the one I had for my old camera works so no worries there.

 

It still has the different effects setting to choose from. I have not found my way to them yet. The menu set up is a little different also.

My old SD card was a separate disc and adapter set up. It started acting weird, so he also got me a new one that is all one piece. The old SD card was 4GB the new one is 8GB.

He gave it to me early because I will need it to take many pictures of Marty’s First Birthday! We will be having a BBQ pot luck lunch at the local State Park.

Here are a few of the first photos I took.

2 comments on “My New Camera Is A Canon ELPH 180!

    • It is pretty easy. Turn it on Set your initial settings, I keep mine on auto and the flash off most of the time. I did finally find my way to the effects after some messing around with the menu and function buttons. If I have an idea for a set of photos using an effect I will set it and head out to find the photos. I find it easier to do this then switching from normal to an effect randomly. Zooming is not a problem as you just have to push a lever on the top of camera. It also takes videos although I have not done one yet. All in all I like it and it fits my needs.

      Like

What are your thoughts? :D

