My Skraps Change/Coin Purse: The Makeover

I got to looking at this piece and decided it needed a make over. It was starting to come apart where I had whip stitched the sides together. It was one of the first things I made in this rebirth of my desire to learn to crochet. I was also going to sell it on Ebay, but I decided to keep it as it was the first one I made. I have been crocheting this time for two years. My skills have improved greatly. I didn’t want to frog the little purse for its yarn, I just wanted to give it a makeover.
This group of photos were the ones taken when I was going to sell it on Ebay. I added the writing on them for use in this post. The writings below the photos were for descriptions on Ebay.

1-my-scraps-purse-before

The Original Stats were:
Project Name: My Scraps Coin Purse
Pattern Used: Crochet Change Purse- Red Heart Pattern Number: LW3547
Designed By: Bobbi Anderson at RedHeart Yarn
Hook Used: I/9 – 5.50 mm
Stitches Used: Single Crochet
Colors Used: Unlabeled Tied together Scrap Ball of Brown, Orange, Pastel variegated, Blue,Yellow Orange Green Tan variegated.
Other Materials: Plastic Brown/ Tan Button
Measurements: 4 inches by 4 inches

Here is the little purse today.

3-my-scraps-change-purse

The Makeover Stats:
Project Name: My Scraps Coin Purse
Pattern Used: Crochet Change Purse- Red Heart Pattern Number: LW3547
Designed By: Bobbi Anderson at RedHeart Yarn
Hook Used: F/5 – 3.75 mm
Stitches Used: Single Crochet
Colors Used: Unlabeled Tied together Scrap Ball of Brown, Orange, Pastel variegated, Blue,Yellow Orange Green Tan variegated and an Unlabeled Scrap Ball in Red.
Other Materials: Plastic Brown/ Tan Button
Measurements: 5 inches by 4 inches

The smaller hook size meant I had to add the red scrap yarn that you see in the third photo. I wanted the flap to fold down further over the piece.

As you can see in the following photo I single crocheted the sides together this time. I then turned it inside so the seam would not show.

3d-my-scraps-change-purse

 

I now use the little purse as a storage case for my two camera battery chargers. They fit just right. 🙂

 

What are your thoughts? :D

