An Inspiring Day Of Fishing

October 27, 2016

 

Fishing was very slow, so I got my camera out and kept my self busy catching photos.

I caught these photos of some young tree ents. We don’t fish this spot on the pond often, last time we  were here the trees were fully leafed out so it was hard for me to see that they were indeed tree ents.

They looked wonderful in color! I thought they would also look great in monochrome. I think I was right!

I had to get some photos of my first catch of the day. A cute little bullfrog. He was in the leaf litter near the bank. I nearly stepped on him filling the bait bucket with water. I kept him in the bucket so if my daughter and grandson stopped by I could show it to them. I released him around 5:00 pm. They stopped about an hour after I let him go.

The coots were really close to me today. They were doing alot of diving so I could not get a good photo of them.

I was watching some water bugs swimming along the bank. Eight of them would race along wiggling back and forth in a single file line. As I watched four of them broke away and began square dancing. I kid you not! The individuals would spin in a circle while spinning around with the other 3 in a circle. Then they would swim off and catch up with the others racing along the bank.  I didn’t take photos they would never have stayed in frame or focus. They were just too fast!

I was sitting on the bench thinking of all these things I have been watching when a poem started forming in my mind.

I had to get it down on paper. I would never remember it all until we got home. It was a good thing I kept Post It Notes and pens in a pouch on my chair in BOB.

You can view the poem and the rest of the photos here.

What are your thoughts? :D

