A New Toddler Crochet Item Available on Ebay

40-toddler-pink-ribbed-fold-up-brim-beanie

I started with the brim first. I like these ribbed brims. You can start with them and then crochet the beanie part directly to it by doing several rounds then do decreasing rounds to close up the top. I have also seen patterns where you start with the beanie then do the ribbed brim, but that involves working the ribs into each round of the beanie using a stitch I am not familiar with. So I did the brim then the beanie then matched them up and single crocheted through both. That is the dark pink round between beanie and brim in the above photo.

This was supposed to be an adult size beanie, but it didn’t work out that way. Most adult beanies are 60 stitches around. I made my brim piece 14 single crochets across then did 59 rows. When I joined the ends together with single crochet that gave me my 60 stitches that I could match up to a beanie. I like these ribbed brims because they are pretty stretchy. I tried it on, it was just a bit snug, that was ok not to tight, not too loose.

I then moved on to the beanie.

I was using Front Post Double Crochet and that tends to be a tighter stitch. I should have actually done a few more rounds to get the adult size. I also think I should have used my J/9 – 6.50 mm hook.

Oh, well! It still made a cute little beanie.

Project Name: Toddler Pink Ribbed Fold-up Brim Beanie
Pattern Used: Improvised
Designed by: Arlene K. Didier from Skrappy Skarves
Started on: 12/31/2016
Finished on: 01/01/2017
Hook Used: I/9 – 5.50 mm
Stitches Used: Single crochet, Single crochet Back Loop Only, Double crochet, and Front Post Double crochet
Brim: Row 1: Chain 15, Sc in 2nd chain from hook. Sc across, ch. 1 turn. -14
Row 2: Sc Back Loop Only across, Ch. 1 Turn. -14
Row 3 – 59: Repeat Row 2.
Put ends together Sc through back loop and front loop -14
Turn work Ch. 1 Place a Sc in each end row. -60
Fasten Off Weave in ends.
Beanie: Rnd 1: Ch. 3, 10 Dc in 3rd chain from hook. -10 Slip stitch to Join Chain 2 at the end of each round.
Rnd 2: dc and fpdc in each Double crochet around. – 20
Rnd 3: dc, 2dc repeat around. – 30
Rnd 4: dc, dc, Dc and FPDC repeat around. – 40
Rnd 5: dc,dc,dc, DC and FPDC repeat around – 50
Rnd 6: dc, dc, dc, dc, DC and FPDC repeat around. – 60
Rnd 7 – 12: Front Post Double crochet in each stitch around. – 60
Match up beanie and brim slip stitch to join. Sc through both around. Fasten off, weave in ends.
Colors Used: Unlabeled Balls of Pink
Measurements: Circumference of 17 inches . Crown to edge measures 8 inches with brim down and 6 inches with brim folded – up when laid flat.
Size Made: Toddler 1 – 3 years

The Ebay link for Toddler Pink Ribbed Fold-up Brim Beanie

and you can view all my items.

What are your thoughts? :D

