Learning with Little Kitty #2: Healthy, Happy, and Home

 

Hi,  You All! It’s me Little Kitty!

I have been with my family now for 4 months as of today! I guess that makes me about 6 months old now too. I have grown alot and I am feeling great. I am all healed up, well except for the new ouchies I get playing with Sully. They are no big deal not like the ones I had when I got here. They are just some little scratches on my chin and forehead once in awhile. I have grown taller, Dad says I am going to be one of those tall slender cats. Mom weighed me on the bathroom scale holding me while she stood on it. I made Mom gain 6 pounds! I have come a long way from that bony, sickly, scabbed up, screaming kitty in The Driveway!

I have been trying to learn all kinds of things.

I have learrned my favorite toy is a pair of shoe laces that Mom tied together. I call it my string. Mom will drag it around on the floor for me to chase. I catch it with my paws. I can also catch it in my mouth. If Mom gets to busy or forgets my string in my bedroom, I will carry it out in my mouth, dragging it behind me. I like to bring it in the kitchen to pounce on it or paw at it under the chairs.

Here are a few photos and a short video of me playing with, and pouncing on, my string.

Mom thinks I am so cute when I drag it around in my mouth.

 

I am having a hard time learning what things it is ok for me to climb around on.

I can sit on the chest freezer to look out the window.

I can sit on the seat of the chairs but I can’t sit on the backs to sharpen my claws.

I can sit on the couch. I also can sit on the cat tower, it is ok to sharpen my claws on it.

I can’t get on the counters to lick the grease out of the pans that were used to cook supper in. I have not decided which is my favorite yet, bacon, hamburger, or chicken grease. Lately though Mom has been making sure to wash the pans before she goes to bed that night instead of waiting until the next morning. This is what lead me to learn that I am a kitchen sink cat. I sit it in now, when I can’t find some pans to lick. I don’t know why, I just like to sit in it to think or stare off at far away places.

I have learned that some of these things are considered being naughty. They will get me squirted  with the spray bottle.  I have learned to run from the spray bottle. Mom doesn’t even have to spray me now. I have also learned I have a nickname for when I am being naughty. Mom calls me Little Stink, but it is still said with a laughing  affection in her voice.

I am pretty good at parkour.( wikipedia link for those not in the know 🙂 ) I can run across the freezer, jump from one kitchen chair to the other. Sometimes I will run through the kitchen, jump onto the cat tower, leap off of it, knocking it over. It makes a cool thump noise which scares Mom. I continue running into the living room jump from the big chair to the couch, then run to the other end of the house, just to do it all again. Mom says I am doing laps.

I will somtimes jump off the cat tower onto my brother, Sully’s head as he walks by. This is the start of some great wrestling matches. He will eventually hold me down to give me a few bites, but I get my kicks in. He will wrestle and play for a while then he likes to lie in the big chair to rest. I will go do other stuff for a bit, then I get bored and want to play with him again. So I will go over to the big chair and paw at him around the arms. He wakes up and paws at me and makes this really strange noise. I think he likes me pawing him this must be his way of saying to keep pawing my head. I keep at it, but then he gets up and runs away. I give chase the whole time he is running and making that noise. Mom will say he is being grumpy and having a hissy fit. She aids in his escape from me by letting him in her bedroom and closing the door so I can’t keep pawing his head or attacking his tail. I really like to get his tail.

Oh well, I guess I will go do something else until he decides to come back out to play again.

Now where is my string!

See you all later and keep on learning!

Little Kitty

4 comments on “Learning with Little Kitty #2: Healthy, Happy, and Home

What are your thoughts? :D

