Wild Wooly Windy WIP’s Wednesday! Say That Three Times Fast!

There’s really no wool, just sounded good with all the other “W” words.

The wind is really blowing this morning! There have been some really big gusts that shake the old mobile home.

So I had to keep a tight grip on my WIP’s to take these photos.

I am still working on the simply soft puppy print baby blanket. I have not gotten bored with it enough to send it into hibernation. It is because I like the new stitch pattern I am using now. It better suits this yarn. The wavy stitch had single crochet and half double crochet in it. This made it difficult to keep them loose so I could fit the hook in the next row.

I have gotten quite a bit done. I think at 13 inches it is about half done. I think it will make a good bassinet blanket or fit nicely over a  car seat.

I did start a new hat, so I can take small breaks from the blanket. I am trying to find projects that I can use up my retired, discontinued yarns that I have bought at my local thrift store. These older yarns tend to be a bit rough, so I wanted them used with like yarns rather than the newer lines of yarn. They are all old Red Heart lines such as wintuk and caress which is a brushed yarn. It is soft but it is really fuzzy. Also if I remember correctly it shrinks when dried too long or too hot in the dryer. I used it in a beanie with other yarns and it shrunk up and really fuzzed out so you could not even see the stitches. I guess you could say it felted. If I miss a stitch and have to rip it back the little fuzzies get tangled making it a pain to do so.

The beanie is about half-finished. I am using the Bubblegum Heart Beanie or Emy’s Beanie Pattern designed by Amanda Evanson from MNE Crafts. I decided not to make the heart graph in it though. I just want to make a nice warm beanie. This front post double crochet beanie does just that. This is the only color of this brushed yarn I have and as I said I wanted to keep like yarns together of these older yarns.

Yarn Stats for the beanie. Red Heart Caress 60% Acrylic 40% Nylon 4 ply Brushed yarn 3 oz/ 185 grams in 281 Rust.
I have 2 skeins of it so this beanie was a good fit as it does use a bit of yarn. I would not have to worry about running out before I finished the beanie. I am still on the first skein. If it doesn’t use up all of this first skein, I am thinking of making some matching mittens as I will have a whole other skein to work those with.

 

I still have not found the motivation to sew the liner for the Blue Market bag.

Designed by Jaime Maraia from Crochet Dynamite

There is no rush to get that done.

 

The Skrappy Triangle Shawl

Designed by: Sharon Maher from Laughing Purple Goldfish Designs

is back hibernating now that I have used up

the small balls of scrap from my stash.

And that wraps up this Wild Wooly Windy WIP’s Wednesday!

4 comments on “Wild Wooly Windy WIP’s Wednesday! Say That Three Times Fast!

  1. All of these projects are fab, I’m glad you measured the baby blanket to give an idea of size, that’s about the size I’m aiming for with the beautiful shells blanket. (It’ll probably be big enough by 2020!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now if this was a full size blanket for like a twin or queen bed yep it would take me ;years to finish. I have done 2 queens and a twin in the past. One queen for myself the other for my daughter and the twin for my son. I only worked on them during the winter as they are big it makes your lap too warm in the summer to work on them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, yeah, that’s right, I really meant to do that. lol Thanks for your kind words too, I am glad that you enjoy my posts. Weather twins for today anyway. 🙂

    Like

  3. Arlene – don’t you mean you ‘totally’ meant the felting in that hat???? Again I have to say – I love your post titles! I just know something fun is going to pop up when I click on your posts! Very windy here today too! I’m in CT – are we weather twins?? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D

