A Huntin’ I Did Go, A Huntin’ I Did Go, Hi Ho The Derry O! A Huntin’ I Did Go!

( I bet you sang that, didn’t you?)

 

While out doing my spring cleaning on Sunday (03/19/2017) I saw that there were castings on the ground. Well if there were castings it must mean that the frost is out of the ground. So I will be able to start digging my flower beds to get them ready for seeds and bulbs.
David and I have both been watching the ponds itching for the ice to go out. Well it has gone. We are going to get our fishing licenses on Saturday when we go to town. You may be wondering if I am getting a fishing license why am I going on about hunting?
Well with fishing there comes a bit a hunting. You need some bait right. So when I saw those castings on the ground I knew it was just a matter of time. Yesterday it was drizzly raining on and off most of the day. Perfect conditions for an earthworm hunt! So last night with bucket and flashlight in  hand I went a huntin’!

I bagged these beauties. It was easy pickings.

I approached my first target slowly and silently. I had to be light on my feet. I reach, make the grab, and gently pull. It was barely in its hole so it came right out. Most of them were bagged this easily. I need not have been so concerned about being stealthy. They were a bit slow and sluggish as the temperature was only between 35 and 40 last night around 8:45 pm. Later in the season this will not be the case. They will be quick to retreat into their holes at the slightest change in lighting or the merest tremble of the ground from your footsteps. That is why it is best to hunt while it is raining, your footsteps are masked by the rain if you move slowly and softly.

I did not bag every one I saw as they still had some growing to do. You don’t want to deplete your supply when you have a whole fishing season ahead of you.
I didn’t even have to go around the whole yard. I went from the deck steps over to the back door steps. Most of them were right of the edge of the grass along the side of the house. There is plenty of hunting grounds so we don’t over hunt an area.

The best things about earthworm hunting it only took about 15 minutes to get this dozen and a  1/2

and  you don’t have to pay $ 3.00 for a dozen.

I just saved three dollars and some change. 🙂

2 comments on “A Huntin’ I Did Go, A Huntin’ I Did Go, Hi Ho The Derry O! A Huntin’ I Did Go!

  1. Oh my gosh Arlene!! I don’t fish anymore, but when I was a kid my parents used to take all of the leaves we raked in the fall and pile them up in a corner of the property, then come spring/summer whenever we needed worms we would just push back a bunch of leave and us kids would have to grab our coffee cans and go off hunting for worms!!! I hated it but I love the memory of it!! My favorite was when my dad would mix mustard powder and water together and pour a little bit down the worm holes in the yard in the afternoon and then at night we would go out with flashlights and pluck the worms that would come up out of the holes!! again I was a little princess girl and thought the whole business was totally gross but OH the memories of simple honest no cell phone and computer summers!!! Thank you!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D

