Sully Saturdays # 15: The Weather and Little Sisters Both are Unpredictable

 

The weather has been nice and the snow has all melted, so Mom has been able to take me outside. I was so ready when she asked if I wanted to go outside. I didn’t even want to wait to put my harness and leash on. Well actually it was Milly’s Pink leash. I broke the clip on my leash last year. Mom is still looking for a new clip. Once Mom had me all harnessed and leashed she opened the door. I made my way down the steps, dragging Mom behind me. She clipped me to the step rail and went about doing her stuff outside.

It is too early yet for any reasonable amount of catnip to be by the steps. So I had to be happy with just smelling and rubbing on last year’s dry stalks. When Mom was done doing her stuff, she unclipped me to take me for my walk around the house. I have not been for a walk all winter, so it was new to me again. When we approached the corner of the house that took us into the backyard, I stopped dead in my tracks and fluffed up my tail. Something in the backyard made me nervous and a bit scared. There was nothing Mom could see, so maybe I hear or smell something that she can’t. Mom gently coaxed me forward so I ran through the backyard. I was fine when we reached the end of the house. I continued on to the front yard at a happy little trot to the front deck, up the steps, and waited for Mom to open the door to go back in. As a treat for doing well on my walk, Mom found a small patch of green catnip and brought some in to me. I LOVE IT! I can’t wait for my patch by the steps to take off!

As you know I got a new little sister back in November. Her name is Little Kitty and she gets to stay in the house. My other sister Milly is the shed cat. Here I am with Milly during one of her house stays this winter. She was in a good mood that day and let me snuggle, cuddle, and give her kisses.

Any way Little Kitty and I are getting along for the most part. Mom will let her out after I have had my breakfast which can be any time between 4 am and 6 am, I am not always the reason Mom gets up at 4 AM. Sometimes she just can’t sleep any more and decides to get up on her own. Most days I get her up at 5:30 ish.

Little Kitty has to stay in her bedroom at night because she is still learning the house rules. She is still too hyper to be left to her own devices. She likes to get into the trash for one and she gets on the counters to lick the grease out of the pans that were used to cook supper, if Mom leaves them to wash until morning.

When she comes out of her room, she will run up to me for snuggles and kisses.

 

She is all sweet and nice for a little while then BAM! She is running up and down the house, jumping off of everything. She will run through the house, jump onto the cat tower, then leap off of it with such force she knocks it over or sometimes she pounces off it on to my head as I walk by it.

This action then takes us into the living room where the wrestling matches begin.

Naturally when she pounces on me I have to shove her off, hold her down, and give her some bites.

All the while she is kicking me in the chin and chest with her back feet.

It is no wonder my chin is all scabbed up.

 

All this rough housing with Little Kitty all winter has

helped me loose some of my extra weight.

Mom says she can actually see my hips again and my stomach doesn’t stick out

the sides as much when I lay in the loaf position.

This is the most recent photo of me.

 

Eventually I start to get tired after about an hour of this very physical play. It is time for me to take my morning nap, which usually last until lunch time. Little Kitty will go off keeping herself busy or Mom will keep her entertained for a while. She must get bored with that and Mom because around 10 AM she thinks I have rested enough and tries to get me to play again. She will come over to the big living room chair and paw at my head between the bars or jump up beside me paw me and jump back down expecting me to chase her. Well I am getting on in years and I need my full morning nap. So I will paw her on the head, she thinks she has gotten me to join her in play. So I then paw at her and hiss at her a bit. SHE DONT’ GET IT! Her cat mom must have never have yelled or hissed at her to teach her that this is a warning noise that means back off! She just keeps coming. I will try running away from her while hissing she thinks I am still trying to play and chases after me. Mom will hear me hissing, she will call me a grumpy old kitty, then she opens her bedroom door to let me in, she closes it again so Little Kitty can’t follow me in. Ahh, now I can finish my nap in peace. She knows that I have had enough of my little sister’s rambunctious, unpredictable ways!

What are your thoughts? :D

