Spring Cleaning Continues

 

This week has been chilly and wet. I can not go out to do some spring cleaning so I brought it indoors. I decided that the living room needed to be rearrange. I wanted to make sure everything was going to fit where I had an idea to move it. Thursday afternoon I grabbed pen, paper and tape measurer and set to work. I measured all the furniture. I got David’s 100 foot tape measurer from the tool chest on the deck to measure the lengths of all the walls.

This is the list of measurements.

I then took this list, pen and  graph paper. I graphed out the living room floor plan. Now I had a visual aide to place the furniture in before I started moving things and discovered it would not fit. Thus preventing moving heavy things several times.

The Floor Plan

The living room is carpeted except in front of the exit door.

The video case is in the kitchen at the end of the west wall. So it kind of extends that wall. Then you have the threshold between the kitchen and living room and then the built in book shelf.

The bottom of the graph is the North Wall and the top is the South Wall.

David and my son, Nick are making a trip down to visit relatives in Sidney on Friday. I thought this would be a great time to do some rearranging of the livingroom. The boys would not be in the way and I would not have to worry about waking them up by vacuuming while they sleep in.  So Thursday evening I started moving things out of the living room to the kitchen just to get ahead start. I started with the south wall it had the least amount of furniture so I could move most of it myself. I got it all moved out-of-the-way when David asked what I was going to put there. I said I wanted his computer inventory bins near the door and then the couch next to them, under the  window. His tv tray at the other end of the couch. I didn’t get actual before photos I got during and afters.

 

So with the couch and bins moved over to  the south wall, I could now vacuum, dust, and clean the big wall mirror on the east wall. I wanted to move all the wood paneling you see there into the small bedroom. It is left over materials from when Nick blocked off his east window and put in an air conditioner. We could not store it in the shed as it has a leaking roof even though David reshingled it last June. We decided not to store the pink foam insulation in the small bedroom as Little Kitty is in there at night and she would probably tear it up. She has not passed her shredding, biting, chewing and eat things stage yet. So the insulation stayed in the living room.

The big chair that you see beside the fireplace in the above photos was placed straight facing the west wall. This is when we decided to call it a night. I thanked David for all of his help. This put me way ahead of schedule. So Friday I would have time to attend to the details and have time to enjoy the results before the boys returned on Saturday afternoon.

I did want to put the tv stand in front of the mirror. The more I thought about it though it was fine where it was at on the west wall. Also David would be gone the next day and he did not want me to move it myself. He said I would break the legs off.

This is in reference to the time I moved a coffee table with the fish tank on it by myself. Yes, the legs broke, the fish tank dumped all over the carpeted floor, and fish were either flopping around or buried in the fish gravel. The serious tension of this situation was relieved when I cried out, ” I FOUND NEMO!” Yes, my daughter had named one of the goldfish, Nemo.

The  next morning I put the big chair at an angle so there would be room for the faux fireplace on the north wall. I moved the little seat with table, and the white chair over from the north wall. This helped get some more of David’s inventory out of the middle of the floor and at least under something else out-of-the-way. This is the east wall all finished.

With the little seat and the white chair out-of-the-way, I took all the books and videos out of the black book shelf. I then moved it further to the west. I was then able to put the faux fireplace on the east end of the north wall. With the big chair at an angle I was able to put David’s night stand and tray in front of the chair.

 

This is the north wall all finished.

This is the end of the North wall and the West wall. I still need to tidy and dust-up the tv stand.

Now with all this commotion going on you would think the cats would be all out of sorts. Well Sully was having no part of these doings. He went back to our bedroom to wait out this rediculousness. Now Little Kitty was a whole other story. We had to have the small bedroom door open as I was putting things in the closet in there. So she came out to see what was going on. Well she must have thought she was in kitten heaven. She had herself an ever changing obstacle course. She was zooming all around the whole evening until we called it quits and put her back in her room.

Sully came out the next morning. He gave it an older and wiser cats slow look over then returned to the bedroom. Later in the day, when I was all finished, he came out again giving his final approval. They both like that the couch is in front of the window now. They can get on the back of it to look out the window without getting yelled at and sprayed with the water bottle. They have more floor space to lounge around on or have wrestling matches.

Kay, Justin and Martin came over around 4 pm Friday afternoon. They all liked it too. Martin was a little confused at first. I could see it on his face as he looked around the living room. He also likes the couch by the window so he can look out. Before some one had to hold him up to them. It is so cute how he says window, ” andow, andow andow!”

Little Kitty relaxing on the white chair beside me this morning as I type up this post. 😀

 

4 comments on “Spring Cleaning Continues

    • Nope, It is nice not having to navigate around my husband’s inventory. It also makes it safer for my grandson to get around with out falling into something. He is almost 18 months old and there is no such thing as walking at that age. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. My goodness! When it gets cold and wet outside I usually grab my blanket and get my couch campsite all set up! Good job! I know that as soon as it starts smelling like Spring I’ll get some enthusiasm to start cleaning – I hope!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D

