Moonflowers

NIGHT BLOOMERS!

I bought these moonflower seeds on clearance last fall. I had never heard of them or never seen them to the best of my knowledge. The reason I bought them is while walking to the park several times last summer with Kay and Marty we would pass this one yard that had these huge flowers that looked a lot like morning glories. I mean the flowers were as big as my hand. I thought these moonflowers might be them. I read the package and discovered that they bloom at sunset, so they could not have been the flowers we passed in that yard. I got them anyway because they looked a lot like morning glories and they would vine to 12 to 15 feet tall and so the flowers would be big too.

I did a little research on them this morning, there is not much info about them. One thing I learned was that they are poisonous especially the seeds. If I remember correctly, so are morning glories. They are pretty drought resistant which will be good for my area. I am also planning to transplant them under the west and south bedroom windows which get quite hot because the sun reflecting off the aluminum siding.

They are supposed to be very fragrant too. I am thinking these will bring the humming-bird moths around. I have seen one on occasion since I have now started planting flowers. I bet the butterflies out and about in the early evenings may even enjoy them.

One other thing  I learned was that you should soak the seeds in warm water over night before planting. I did this as it was a tip on the back of the package. I started them off in these peat pots and some potting soil. So now we will wait and see if they will sprout.

So my fellow gardeners, have you any advice or experience with these giants of the flower garden?

Oh, here is another question for you, do you have another species of night bloomers in your flower garden?

 

3 comments on “Moonflowers

What are your thoughts? :D

