And The Wind Did Blow!

 

We had a really bad storm here last Tuesday (6/28/2016). It was pretty cloudy out that early evening. So it was a bit strange when the lights flickered once then again and totally out. This was at 5:08 pm. I know because I looked at my phone to note the time to see how long the power would be out. Well then I hear the splattering of rain drops on the window not too bad so far. I spoke to soon the splattering of rain drops becomes the pinging of hail. The rain is heavy now with the hail mixed in. Then our mobile home is shoved. Yes, the wind has begun to blow and it is a gusting hard! It is blowing the rain in the north window in the living room even though it is closed.

I go around looking out various windows to see the trees just swaying like crazy. David tells me to get in the living room because he is worried that the big tree in the back yard could fall and if it does it would land on the kitchen. I go into the living room for a few minutes then decide to go to the bedroom at the other end of the house. I look out the west window in there. I see that the neighbor’s trees are sway pretty good and the one nearest to our house could actually fall on the bedroom so I grab Sully off the bed and we both go back into the living room. The hard rain and hail and winds last about 30 to 45 minutes then it all calms down to gently falling rains. It was pretty scary there for a while.

Now that things are calm I go back to my room to do some crocheting until I can no longer see. The power is still not back on. So once it is dark I just put my stuff away and go to sleep. David stayed up listening to the battery-powered radio for weather updates and Rockies updates, playing his Castle Age at hour intervals and  checking where the storm headed on the laptop to conserve its battery. The Rockies did play that night with a first pitch at 9:30 ish pm. He came to bed about 1:00 am. I went out to the couch at this time because I felt I was gonna have a snore fit and didn’t want to keep him up. It is just after 3:00 am when a bright light in the kitchen wakes me up and I see David coming out to turn it off. I then followed him back to the bedroom to finish my night’s sleep.

Power was out for about 10 hours here. Town was back on in a couple of hours. I think the power crews did a great job. They had to move trees before they could replace lines. I also learned that several power poles had been down too.

It is now later on Wednesday morning so we can go out and survey the damage. I also found this little chart when I was checking out Facebook. That 103 wind gust was just 2 miles south of our house.

Photo Chart via Facebook.

Photo Chart via Facebook.

 

 

We had no damage to the house or BOB.

Just a lot of tree branches all over the yard which we piled up near the burn barrel.

David will burn them later.


The garden did survive. Just a lot of shredded leaves.

The tomatoes and yellow summer squash were not damage hardly at all that is why there are no photos of them.

One comment on “And The Wind Did Blow!

  1. They say winds like that are not twister – BS! We have had them that strong here before too. Uprooted some really large trees to-boot! and you are in a trailer – scary!! So glad you (and your gardens) are all ok! Do I need to call you Dorothy now (hee hee – Wizared of Oz)

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? :D